Use Luck to Stop Wasting Time on Meaningless Decisions

Focus on what matters

Danny Forest
4 min readJul 25, 2022
Photo Credit: https://unreasonable.is/jane-miller-book-1/

I don’t know if you’re like me but I really, I mean REALLY, value my time. I don’t want to waste a single minute on decisions that won’t change my life in any meaningful way.

So here’s how I came up with a solution I’ve used for years to make meaningless decision:

About 10–12 years ago, I was trying to find a good place for dinner for a special occasion. I’m sure everyone has been through that. So after some research, I narrowed it down to two awesome options I could choose from.

But how to choose between them? They were both great, but what if one was greater? I could start listing the pros and cons of each options; or check the places in person to see which one had a better feel. Or read ALL the reviews online for each of them. But all of that is time consuming!

I opted for a solution that changed my life forever! It’s so simple yet I’ve never seen anyone else do it:

Just Flip A Coin!

Photo Credit: http://verdant.me/tools/virtual-coin-toss/

There are times when you can’t make a decision. In your mind, both are great options. Around 50/50…

--

--

Danny Forest

Polymath. Life Optimizer. Learner. Entrepreneur. Engineer. Writer.