Smart People Steal From Smart People

Take, adapt, and apply what you learn from smart people

Danny Forest
3 min readSep 23, 2020
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels (Adapted)

I used to be pretty dumb. Of course, I didn’t know it at the time. Sadly, like most people, I had to learn that in hindsight.

Why do I say I was dumb?

Mostly because I used to think that there were answers to everything. I was always seeking answers, and never asking the right questions. As I grow older, I realize that answers just aren’t as valuable as good questions.

Eventually, I became smarter.

It happened when I started hanging out with smarter people than me. I began to steal their thought process. I began to think as they think. I became more open to the possibility than my answers were just part of other plausible answers. I learned that there’s no black and white, only shades of grey.

I remember two particular times when I was speaking with friends who owned pretty successful businesses in the video games industry. One was the CEO of one company, and the other was the CTO of another one.

I knew these two guys well, and I knew for a fact that they were no smarter than me. Yet, somehow, they grew their businesses year over year while I was struggling with mine. They both told me their secret, and it was the same for both of them:

--

--

Danny Forest

Polymath. Life Optimizer. Learner. Entrepreneur. Engineer. Writer.