The French Word for “Mistaken” Sounds a Whole Lot Like “Trump”

Dear America, don’t make the mistake of not voting

Danny Forest
3 min readOct 28, 2020
Illustration by the author. Photo of President Trump

If you forego the accent on the ‘e’, “trompé” is exactly how we French speakers say “Trump” in French. It makes me grin every time. The word basically means “mistake”, from the verb “Se tromper”. “Je me trompe” means “I am mistaken”. If you wrote it like “je me Trump”, it would sound exactly the same in French.

I couldn’t help but laugh at that fact when I read that President Trump made 18,000 false or misleading claims in 1,170 days. Is he simply mistaken? Maybe, “il se trompe?”

For the rest of this article, “il s’est Trumpé” will mean “he was mistaken”.

Linda Caroll, shared a great piece about 5 things she doesn’t understand about America because she’s Canadian. It’s true, we Canadians don’t get your elections (no offence). I find it strange that we each call our countries democratic yet have a very different approach to it. Yours is 10x more complicated. I still don’t get it, so I never write about it (until now I guess).

The thing is, we can never escape your presidential elections. The last time they happened, I was travelling around the world. Even Cambodian TV was talking about them!

--

--

Danny Forest

Polymath. Life Optimizer. Learner. Entrepreneur. Engineer. Writer.