Woman looking up with eyes closed thinking about different places.
Image generated on MidJourney

How Choosing Discomfort Reinvents, Refines, and Reveals You

The Hidden Rewards of Seeking Discomfort Abroad

Danny Forest
4 min readAug 14, 2023

--

As I’m writing this, I live in a country that’s very far away from my home country. I escaped the very fun summertime with my family to go on the other side of the earth where it’s the heart of winter.

It’s cold, and I’m sure, much less bustling than it can be in the warmer months of the year.

When we told people about what we planned to do before leaving, they asked us a very simple question: “Why?”

And you might be wondering the same thing.

To be honest, it’s a very good question.

Why leave the comfort of our home to go somewhere less enjoyable?

In my home country of Canada, most people travel during the Winter to someplace warmer like Mexico or Cuba. It makes sense. Winters can be brutal, so they’re finding a more comfortable place to be.

It is more enjoyable. Even I like to escape Canadian winters.

So why go somewhere not as comfortable?

In a way, “comfort” makes you “weaker”. Or rather, doing uncomfortable things improves you.

How?

--

--

Danny Forest

Polymath. Life Optimizer. Learner. Entrepreneur. Engineer. Writer.