Entertaining Yourself Can Be Productive

Not all entertainment is a waste of time, including watching TV

Danny Forest
4 min readOct 26, 2020
Illustration by the author. Original photo by Bermix Studio on Unsplash

Almost daily, my wife tells me that she feels bad about watching so much TV. She’s on maternity leave and spends a great deal of time with our son. She’s constantly playing with him and researching new ways to take care of him. She’s a stellar mom and does everything right.

So what if she watches TV when he’s sleeping on her or in his bed? This keeps her sane. That’s what matters. Through watching TV, she recharges her batteries so she is more capable of handling the tough situations when I can’t be around.

I frequently find myself escaping to video games after work. I often beat myself up about it too. But if I did something else considered productive, I’d just burn out. When you have your entertainment under control, there’s hardly anything more productive to do for the long-term.

In a 2019 survey, 32 percent of US adults reported being more anxious in 2019 than they were the year before. Can you imagine what the numbers will be like for 2020? I’d be surprised if it’s not closer to 90 percent.

The Anxiety and Depression Association of American (ADAA) suggests 14 ways you can relieve your stress. Topping their list is taking time out. You could try mediation, breathing…

--

--

Danny Forest

Polymath. Life Optimizer. Learner. Entrepreneur. Engineer. Writer.