An Introvert’s Top Tips On How To Be A Great Storyteller

Danny Forest
4 min readFeb 22, 2018

Almost all the world leaders are great storytellers. It’s one of the most important skills you can ever pick up, and for introverts like me, one of the hardest.

Introverts have a hard time telling epic stories. By nature, introverts don’t like to attract too much attention, therefore lack the practice in telling their story, or any story really.

You’re not sure if you’re an introvert or not? No worries, read these 8 Signs You Are an Introvert article and you’ll know.

I’ve always considered myself to be an introvert. Yet in the past 7 months, the people I met on the road would never believe me. Without knowing it, I had become good at storytelling. Not the best, but good enough that people started listening to what I had to say. Like any skill, it’s something you need to develop over time.

Before we jump into the tips, think about people you met or know who are good at story telling.

  • What do they have in common?
  • How do they behave?
  • What kinds of stories do they tell?
  • How do they tell the story?
  • What is their body language?

In my months of passive-to-active research on the topic, I came to some observations that helped me…

--

--

Danny Forest

Polymath. Life Optimizer. Learner. Entrepreneur. Engineer. Writer.